We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

O Death - Oscar Bettison

by Ensemble Klang Records

  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Immediate download of album in your choice of format. Comes with liner notes as pdf.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €9 EUR  or more

    You own this


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    So much more than just a CD! Includes detailed booklet with: liner notes by Alex Rose; a Q&A with the composer; photographs; multiple score samples and biographies.

    If that's not enough, the CD comes with a bonus free immediate download of the album in your choice of format. (If you're not sure what to choose don't worry, the physical CD is the same for each choice!)
    ships out within 3 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      €15 EUR or more 

    You own this  




Oscar Bettison (1975) works within and outside the confines of concert music, frequently combining traditional with invented and re-imagined instruments. O Death mixes saxophones, trombone, banjo and piano with jaw's harps, harmonicas, recorders, melodica, flower pots and prepared wrenches. This seven-movement requiem masque assembles a broad range of traditions, including blues and other American folk music, exploring the theme of death and transcendence. O Death presents a dream of life from the perspective of the timeless dead and a premonition of death from the vantage of the clock-bound living.

CD Pick of the Week: "an unconventional lyricism and a menacing beauty" (WNYC radio, Soundcheck, 16 April 2010)

"an ever-developing swirl of swarming, syncopated horns" "feverish interplay" "the keening penultimate movement telegraphing terror in its descending scales before the inevitable lulling finale, nailed shut by a thudding drum." (Baltimore City Paper, 21 April 2010)

5-stars: "a theatrical atmosphere, building in intensity. From a lazy funereal blues via dissonant, relentlessly pulsating blocks of energy it arrives at an uneasy close." (NRC Handelsblad, 21 May 2010)


released April 6, 2010

Heiko Geerts, reeds, jaw's harp & recorders
Erik-Jan de With, reeds, jaw's harp & recorders
Anton van Houten, trombone, recorders, jaw's harp & melodica
Joey Marijs, percussion & harmonica
Pete Harden, guitars, banjo & jaw's harp
Saskia Lankhoorn, piano & harmonica
Tom Gelissen, live electronics & sound

Mixed and produced by Tom Gelissen
Artistic direction, Pete Harden
Design by Duel (www.studioduel.nl)

Recorded live, 19-20 May 2009 in the Korzo Theater, The Hague

This cd was made possible with financial support from Société Gavigniès.


all rights reserved



Ensemble Klang Records Den Haag

The record label of Dutch Ensemble Klang, playing only the newest of new music. We've got saxes, trombone, guitars, keys and stuff we like hitting!

contact / help

Contact Ensemble Klang Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account